Sanbornton Public Library

Duck, Duck, Moose / words and pictures by Mary Sullivan

By: Sullivan, Mary, 1958- [author,, illustrator.]Material type: TextTextPublication details: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021. ©2021Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 21 x 26 cmISBN: 9780358313496; 035831349XSubject(s): Picture books -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Juvenile fiction | Humorous stories -- Juvenile fiction | Stories in rhyme -- Juvenile fiction | Ducks -- Juvenile fiction | Moose -- Juvenile fiction | Geese -- Juvenile fiction | Animals -- Juvenile fiction | Onomatopoeia -- Juvenile fiction | Bees -- Juvenile fiction | Domestic animals -- Juvenile fiction | Lambs -- Juvenile fiction | Donkeys -- Juvenile fictionGenre/Form: Animal fiction. | Humorous fiction.DDC classification: [E] Summary: Duck, Duck, Moose! Where is Goose? Help four friends search for Goose in this laugh-out-loud rhyming picture book from Geisel honor winner Mary Sullivan, perfect for reading aloud and for fans of I Yam A Donkey and The Bad Seed.Summary: Goose is gone and a young girl pleads with her friends, two ducks and moose, for help in finding their missing pal. The foursome ride through the farm on the tractor while other animals, like the horse and sheep, point them in the right direction. A gold key hung high in a tree appears to be an important clue to goose's disappearance, but after several humorous attempts to retrieve it, the ducks and moose land in the mud and return home without Goose. Sorrowfully, it's time for bath and bed. The next day everyone rejoices to find that Goose has returned, refreshed and happy after a vacation. This amusing book with a rhyming text delivered via repeating words and sentences will delight young children. Words like bonk, thud, thwack, and quack liven up the text and encourage readers to say the words out loud as the action develops. VERDICT This effusive book is an ideal read-aloud, but children will quickly feel comfortable attempting it on their own. -- School Library Journal.
Item type Current library Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Book Book Library
Kids Room
Fiction E FIC SUL (Browse shelf (Opens below)) Checked out 10/29/2021 34258000330450
Total holds: 0

Duck, Duck, Moose! Where is Goose? Help four friends search for Goose in this laugh-out-loud rhyming picture book from Geisel honor winner Mary Sullivan, perfect for reading aloud and for fans of I Yam A Donkey and The Bad Seed.

Goose is gone and a young girl pleads with her friends, two ducks and moose, for help in finding their missing pal. The foursome ride through the farm on the tractor while other animals, like the horse and sheep, point them in the right direction. A gold key hung high in a tree appears to be an important clue to goose's disappearance, but after several humorous attempts to retrieve it, the ducks and moose land in the mud and return home without Goose. Sorrowfully, it's time for bath and bed. The next day everyone rejoices to find that Goose has returned, refreshed and happy after a vacation. This amusing book with a rhyming text delivered via repeating words and sentences will delight young children. Words like bonk, thud, thwack, and quack liven up the text and encourage readers to say the words out loud as the action develops. VERDICT This effusive book is an ideal read-aloud, but children will quickly feel comfortable attempting it on their own. -- School Library Journal.

Ages 3-6.

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.